Pakistan’s Government Structure

Home / Pakistan’s Government Structure

Government of Pakistan

The constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, 1973 provides for a federal parliamentary system with a president as head of state and Commander in Chief of the Pakistani Armed Forces and a popularly elected prime minister as head of government.

Government in Parliamentary Democracy is headed by the Prime Minister, who is assisted by his Cabinet Ministers heading various Ministries, Divisions and by his Advisors. Other offices and bodies having important roles in the federal structure include the Attorney General, the Auditor General, the Federal Land Commission, the Federal Public Service Commission, Election Commission of Pakistan, and the Wafaqi Mohtasib (Ombudsman) and the various Regulatory Authorities like PEPRA, PEMRA, OGRA, NEPRA etc.

Constituents of Federal Government

Federal government is composed of three main branches.

Executive Legislative Judicial
President Parliament Judiciary
Prime Minister Senate Attorney General
National Security Council National Assembly
Federal Government Ministries
Federal Ministries
Federal Shariat Court of Pakistan

Provincial Governments

Pakistan is a federation with four Federating Units (Provinces), and Islamabad Capital Territory; Gilgit Baltistan and FATA (Federally Administered Tribal Areas) have their respective governments, who enjoy financial and administrative autonomy particularly after the 18th Amendment. The 18th Amendment provides complete Financial Autonomy to the Provinces whereby they are autonomous in Resource Generation and Expenditure Management. This 18th Amendment also provided for the devolution of more than seventeen social sector subjects from the federal government to provincial governments. The Provincial Government is headed by the Chief Minister who is elected by the members of the Provincial Assembly and assisted by the Provincial Cabinet; The Provincial Cabinet comprises the Ministers and Advisers of various departments. Each province has a Governor who is representative of the Federation in the Province. In most cases the Governor acts on the advice of the Chief Minister and assents to the legislation made by the Provincial Assemblies.